Home Education Information

“Home education means a program of education supervised by a child’s parent, in the child’s home, in accordance with the requirements of this chapter.” North Dakota Century Code Chapter 15.1-23-01.

Home Education Policy Manual
The Home Education Policy Manual is a summary of the home education law in the state of North Dakota. It is not all-inclusive of the entire North Dakota home education law. The law in its entirety is in North Dakota Century Code Chapter 15.1-23-01.

Summary of Requirements
The following are requirements for home educators:
  • Statement of Intent: Must be filed 14 days prior to the beginning of home education.
  • Birth Certificate: Proof of identity is required as part of the statement of intent
  • Immunization: Proof of immunization or written reason for decline is required as part of statement of intent
  • Parent Qualifications: Effective through July 31, 2011, a parent may supervise home education if the parent holds a high school diploma or general education development certificate to home educate. A parent may still supervise home education without these requirements if monitored.
  • Progress Report: Parents are required to maintain an annual record of courses taken by their child(ren) and the child’s academic progress, including standardized achievement tests results.
  • Standardized Testing: See below.
  • Instruction: A minimum of 4 hours per day for 175 days a year, in the child’s home, with instruction being provided by the parent is required.  School attendance or home education is required for children ages 7-16.
  • Curriculum: Core curriculum includes math, science, reading / English, spelling, social studies, health and physical education, music, and electives at the high school level.
  • Graduation: See below.
Download the statement of intent form.

Standardized Testing
A standardized achievement test used by the school district of residence will be administered in grades 4, 6, 8, and 10. If required by the parent, they shall take a nationally nor med standardized achievement test. Tests must be administered by a certified teacher. The cost of testing is paid by the school district unless the parents selects their own test and person to administer the test. In this case, the parent pays the costs.

If the child’s basic composite score falls below the 30th percentile nationally, the child must be professionally evaluated for a potential learning problem by a multidisciplinary assessment team. If the child's basic composite score falls below the 50th percentile nationally, the child must be monitored.

Graduation
Effective through July 31, 2011, home education students may receive their high school diplomas from the child's school district of residence, an approved non-public high school, or the center for distance education if they have met the issuing entity’s requirements for high school graduation.