2015 Election Information

A Special Election on April 21, 2015, will be proposed to amend the current Minot Code of Ordinances for the financing and construction of  a new Minot Aquatics & Recreation Center (MARCS).

Ballot language is as follows:

The City of Minot shall amend its Minot Code of Ordinances to adopt an additional one percent tax on gross receipts of retailers from all sales at retail and use tax to be dedicated to the Minot Park District for the financing and construction of a new Minot Aquatics & Recreation Center and to provide general funds for the operation of the Park District. Upon approval of the one percent sales tax the Park District shall eliminate 100% of its present property tax assessment. The one percent sales and use tax shall not expire at the completion of paying for the bonds to build the Recreation Center. After repayment of the bonds, one hundred percent of the tax shall be dedicated to the Park District general fund for operations of the Park District and allow for the elimination or reduction of its property tax assessments.

A "YES" Vote means you approve the city measure as summarized above.

A "NO" Vote means you reject the city measure as summarized above. 
There will only be one polling location open in the City of Minot at the Minot Municipal Auditorium located at 420 3rd Ave SW.  Voting will open at 7 a.m. and continue open until 7:00 p.m. the day of the Election.

Early voting for the Special Election will take place at the Minot Municipal Auditorium April 13-16, 2015 from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
 Absentee Ballots can be obtained by following the instructions below.
Voter Information
  • North Dakota is the only state that does not have voter registration.
  • ID is required for Voting.  According to NDCC 16.1-05.07 the identification must include your name, CURRENT Residential Address and date of birth.  Click here for more information.
  • Are you qualified to vote in North Dakota? Click here for more information.
  • If you are a Military or Overseas voter please see Absentee Ballot information below.
 **In order to vote, you need NORTH DAKOTA IDENTIFICATION with your CURRENT Ward County address and your date of birth. **
Early Voting

Early voting gives voters the opportunity to cast a ballot in person at a designated precinct prior to Election Day.  The procedure of the Early Vote precinct is the some as the Election Day precincts with the voter showing their ID, obtaining and marking a ballot, and feeding the ballot through the scanner to be counted.  All ballots cast at the Early Vote precinct are tabulated on Election night with the results included in the overall total.  
Absentee Ballot Information
In order to obtain an absentee ballot voters must complete an absentee ballot application and return it to the Ward County Auditor, P.O. Box 5005, Minot, North Dakota 58702 no later than 5 weekdays prior to the election.  Applications are accepted in person, via mail or fax.  If an application is received through the mail or fax, our office will mail a ballot to the address provided.  Voters will be able to obtain a ballot in person by coming to the Auditor/Treasurer's office.  Ballots must be retuned to our office or postmarked no later than one day prior to the election.
Voters not able to personally obtain a ballot may authorize an agent to obtain one for them by filling out an absentee ballot application-agent authorization. This authorizes someone to receive a ballot for another. A particular person is allowed to be an agent for up to three other individuals.

Voters who are uniformed service members, dependents or U.S. citizens living outside the United States may obtain an absentee ballot by filling out a federal post card application and returning it to the Ward County Auditor, P.O. Box 5005, Minot North Dakota 58702. 
Precinct Information

        Find your polling place by clicking here
        City of Minot Vote Centers 
        City of Minot Precint Map**
        Ward County Precint List
         Ward County Precint Map   
        Minot Air Force Base Precinct Map**

Election Results 
 Available after the polls close on election night

Additional Links