Past Activities

North Dakota Medal of Honor Memorial Flag Raising Ceremony
To mark Veterans Day remembrances, the Minot Park District hosted a flag raising ceremony at the North Dakota Medal of Honor Memorial in Roosevelt Park on Monday, November 11, 2013 at 4:00 p.m.

 The Color Guard from the Minot American Legion Post #26 conducted the raising of the flag. Members included: (pictured left to right): Richard Reuer, Lee Schoffstall, Ernest Hoelscher, Millo Wallace, Rob Schutt and Dean Verstraete.

A number of officials were part of the ceremony including Mark Jantzer (Minot Chamber of Commerce), Rep. Kevin Cramer,  Sen. Heidi Heitkamp,  Lt. Gov. Drew Wrigley, Ron Merritt (Minot Park Board), Jackie Velk (Representative for Sen. Hoeven), Clinton Romesha, and ND NG Bohn.

The North Dakota Metal of Honor Memorial was dedicated in 2007. This year's ceremony will be the first function to be held since it's cleaning and rewiring work has been completed, repairing the damage done by the 2011 Souris River flood.

To watch Medal of Honor Recipient Clinton Romesha's closing comments, click here.

Plaques at the Medal of Honor Memorial include an informational  inscription for the following:
  • Private Frank F. Ross
    Langdon, ND  1867-1936
    Company H., 1st ND Volunteer Infantry, U.S. Army
  • Private Richard M. Longfellow
    Mandan, ND  1867-1951
    Company A, 1st ND Volunteer Infantry, U.S. Army
  • Lieutenant Colonel Fred E. Smith
    Bartlett, ND  1873-1918
    308th Infantry, 77th Division, U.S. Army
  • Private John B. Kinne
    Fargo, ND  1877-1954
    Company B, 1st ND Volunteer Infantry, U.S. Army
  • Commander Willis Winter Bradley, Jr.
    Forman, ND  1884-1954
    U.S. Navy