Call our office at 701-857-6420 
for more information on becoming
a poll worker for the
November Election


2020 Voting Information

North Dakota Election Calendar (click here)

  • The voting location for all City of Minot residents is the Minot Municipal Auditorium.

  • Residents of Des Lacs, Makoti, Ryder and South Prairie precincts will no longer vote at their previous locations, but will receive ballots by mail.
November 3, 2020 General Election

  • General Election voting for City of Minot residents will take place at the Minot Municipal Auditorium Armory (east side of the building) on Tuesday, November 3rd from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Voter Information

  • North Dakota is the only state that does not require voter registration.

  • ID is required for voting.  According to NDCC 16.1-05.07, the identification must include your name, CURRENT residential address and date of birth.  Click here for more information.
    • Driver's license
    • Non-driver's identification card
    • Tribal government issued identification card
    • Long term care identification certificate (provided by ND facility)
  • What if I am unable to update my ID?

    • A supplemental document listing the new address may be provided
    • Documents that may be used are:

      • A current utility bill
      • A current bank statement
      • A check issued by a federal, state, local or tribal government
      • A paycheck
  • Are you qualified to vote in North Dakota? Click here for more information.

  • If you are a military or overseas voter, please click here.


Early Voting

Early voting gives voters the opportunity to cast a ballot in person at a designated precinct prior to Election Day.  It also gives the voter the opportunity to avoid Election Day crowds.  The procedure of the Early Voting precinct is the same as Election Day precincts with the voter showing their ID, obtaining and marking a ballot and feeding the ballot through the scanner to be counted.  All ballots cast through Early Voting are tabulated on Election night with the results included in the overall total.

  • Early voting for the General Election will be held Monday, October 26th through Friday, October 30th and Monday, November 2nd.
  • Hours of operation each day: 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
  • Location: Ward County Administration Building, 225 3rd Street SE, Rooms 106 & 108
Absentee Ballot Information

In order to obtain an absentee ballot, voters must complete an absentee ballot application and return it to the Ward County Auditor, PO Box 5005, Minot, ND 58702, no later than 5 weekdays prior to the election.  Applications are accepted in person or via mail or fax.  If an application is received through the mail or fax, our office will mail a ballot to the address provided.  Voters will be able to obtain a ballot in person by coming to the Auditor/Treasurer's Office (office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday).  Ballots must be returned to our office or postmarked no later than one day prior to the election.

Voters not able to personally obtain a ballot may authorize an agent to obtain one for them by filling out an absentee ballot application-agent authorization.  This authorizes someone to receive a ballot for another.  A particular person is allowed to be an agent for up to three other individuals.

Voters who are uniformed service members, dependents or US citizens living outside the United States, may obtain an absentee ballot by filling out an application online and returning it to the Ward County Auditor, PO Box 5005, Minot, ND 58702.

Precinct Information

To find your polling place, click here.

Election Results

Election results are available after the polls close on election night.

  • 2020 General Election official results
If you have questions, contact our office at 701-857-6420.